Gltuen Free Chocolate Peanut-Butter Cookies




Well, the cake went fast (17 relatives + 1 cake = crumbs). So we decided to replace it with some chocolate peanut-butter cookies! As you can see, the kids enjoy them LOL. They turned out chewy and really good…I think these may be my most successful attempt at gluten free cookies so far! My friend Opal has some really exceptional cookie baking skills, and her gluten free cookies are better than most regular ones…so I’ll have to get some of her recipes and post them here.

At any rate, I found a recipe online for gluten free Passover cookies that looked good, and then I modified it. Here’s an off-topic question…if they’re Passover cookies, shouldn’t they have no leven? Or is leven just yeast, and baking powder doesn’t count? If anyone knows, please leave a comment and let me know. I can see where these cookies are Parve, but I’m not so sure about the leven. Not that it matters for me, particularly…I was just wondering!

Here’s the recipe:

1/4 cup dairy and soy free butter substitute
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 cups sugar (we use fructose)
3/4 cup cocoa
4 eggs
2 cups gluten free flour mix (I use 1/2 rice flour 1/2 tapioca flour)
1 tsp. xanthan gum
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 package peanut butter chips (check the package for gluten, dairy and soy, I used a GF off brand because we can tolerate a small amount of soy. You may need to do some hunting for soy free chips!)

Mix together peanut butter, butter, sugar, vanilla and cocoa. Add eggs one by one and blend until smooth. Add in dry ingredients, mix well. Add peanut butter chips last and mix until incorporated. Chill the dough for about an hour (or toss the bowl in the freezer for 1/2 hour like I did if you can’t wait). Preheat oven to 350 while the cookies chill. Roll the cold dough one tablespoon at a time into balls, and place on a cookie sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes (but watch them, it can vary from oven to oven). Take out and let cool before removing from the pan. Enjoy!!!

These are already dairy free! (but make sure to check the peanut butter chips)
These are already soy free! (but make sure to check the peanut butter chips)
Make it peanut free: Omit peanut butter and add 1/2 cup more dairy and soy free butter substitute. Omit peanut butter chips and replace with white chocolate chips or butterscotch chips.
Make it egg free: Hmmm, dunno if you can do it? Anyone with egg substitute experience, let me know if you can use the powdered egg substitute with this one.

Leave a Reply

