A Good Forgetter

Sorry I missed posting yesterday! I don’t have a lot of time this morning, the kids are going to join a track and field team and we need to go get them signed up and then buy shoes for everyone :o) Here’s a quick thought before I resume my crazy day…..

Are you a good forgetter? I’m not. I forget what I’m supposed to remember and I remember what I’m supposed to forget. I am trying to fix that…it seems like all the details and mental lists of things to do and even things to be thankful for slip right out of my mind, while all the little hurts and slights and irritants and personal failings find root there and take up permanent residence. I am good at forgiving, but I am terrible at forgetting! Many times I even think I have forgotten something, only to have it pop back into my mind at an inopportune time, to trip me up in my relationships, my view of myself, and my walk with God.

The enemy loves that, and I believe it’s a trap that we all have to watch out for. If we allow ourselves to wallow in unforgiveness, hurt, and self loathing Satan has a foothold to draw us away from the perfect peace that God wants for us. I think it’s important to stress that I’m not talking just about not forgiving and forgetting the wrongs done to us by others. Not forgiving and forgetting our own sins is just as much…if not more…of a problem. Not only does that hurt our relationship with others and our view of ourselves, it also hurts our relationship with God.

One way that not forgiving…and forgetting…pulls us away from God is that because we ourselves are not able to really let something go– really forget a wrong done to us or a sin of our own, we assume that God doesn’t either. God shrinks in our mind and becomes more human, less God. We think, “How could God forgive that?” We make our own sins more ugly, more wretched and less forgivable than those of others. We walk around as though a black stain were visible on us, a scarlet letter….whether the letter represents the word “Victim” or the word “Sinner”, we see ourselves as less lovable and less able to love.

But that’s not how God sees us! Once Christ is in our hearts, sin is gone. Gone! God loves us with a perfect love, and he forgives us with a perfect love. God is eternal, and His memory is eternal. He knows every person who ever lived, knows every hair on every head. Yet it’s easy to forget that His forgetfulness is eternal, too! God is a good forgetter. When He says that we are forgiven, that our sins are forgotten…He Means It! This is what the Bible says about how perfectly God forgives and forgets: “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” Jeremiah 31:34. And when God says “remember their sins no more”, He means He will forget them eternally! He will cast our sins into the deepest ocean and separate us from them forever. “You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.” Micah 7:1 This is truth! You are forgiven. We are expected for forgive others, as we are also forgiven. This isn’t easy, and we are going to try and fail and try again. We aren’t going to get it right all the time here on earth, but for God’s sake and our own we have to keep trying!

If you ask, your sins will be forgiven! And forgotten. If you’ve given your heart to Christ and you have asked His forgiveness, not only do you have it…but you have it completely, unconditionally, and forever. It’s forgotten, by a God who is the Perfect Forgetter. I don’t know about you, but that makes my day!

2 thoughts on “A Good Forgetter

  1. I love this post. I should have known you had a strong faith by how willing you are to help others through PAGER vol. 🙂 I needed to hear this. I am not a good forgetter. I am also needing to work on being “slow to anger”. I have an Irish temper. Thanks for the reminders. ((HUGS))

  2. Jen, you made my day! Thanks. Yeah, I’ve got the Irish temper thing going, too. What’s that verse…I think it’s James 1:19…”Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry”. I had my kids memorize this, but I think I need to go find that verse, read it agian and make it my mantra!

Leave a Reply

