Quiet Time

The cat grooming the dog…which is terrific, but a possible hairball hazard!


Morning quiet time

I am feeling so blessed lately! Although there has been some friction among siblings (I think they are finally feeling *bored* with all the summer free time…which I’m taking as a good sign!) things are feeling very cozy and settled around here. We’ve implemented a new chore system (more on that another time), and the house has been cleaner and easier to keep up. Our late summer flowers are in bloom and, although we *still* don’t have ripe fruit or tomatoes, they at least look like they are coming along. The cat and dog are getting along really well! I am constantly amazed at how they have become just like siblings, playing together, grooming each other, and sleeping snuggled up at night.

I am also very proud of the spiritual development I’ve seen lately in the kids. Isaiah has been faithfully reading his Bible every night, and many mornings he comes downstairs sharing some new bit of insight he read the night before. He will start a history study when school starts, and we’ll be working on learning inductive study this year as well. He was in trouble earlier this week, but has been learning from his mistakes and has come up with some ideas of his own about how to do things differently in the future. Rachel has been telling me a lot of her thoughts on heaven and God, and I am amazed at her grasp of what I consider to be some pretty difficult concepts. She’s thinking a lot about it, which I love. She did a little Bible study with us this morning, and colored a picture as well. And Sarah has begun to have quiet time in the mornings with me! She has been our earliest riser lately, and usually catches me before I’m done with my quiet time. So this week, I gave her the study Bible I bought for the school year and a journal. She’s been reading a few chapters, reading the side bar information, and responding to what she learns in her journal. I love to have her next to me, quietly reading! It’s such a precious time. If she makes it a habit now, what a blessing it will be for her as she grows up! I have struggled this summer with making sure I keep my quiet time, and things always go so much smoother when I start the day that way. It’s amazing what a few minutes devoted to God will do for your attitude the whole day long! One of my goals for this year is to be more consistent in that, and to help the kids get a routine of their own established. Parts of this week I have not been dealing well with stress and life’s little irritations, so it’s good to stop and be thankful for the blessings we enjoy every day!

One thought on “Quiet Time

  1. That is wonderful. You seem to have such a wonderful family. “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” ~Proverbs 22:6

Leave a Reply

