Dancing

This weekend, we went to a conference and heard a beautiful teaching by Mitch Majeski. He showed this video clip, and talked about how he could see all the nations dancing before the Lord…a beautiful picture! The video touched me, too. It’s a silly ad for some product or another, but the image of dancing, the picture of all the nations dancing together…is powerful.

I think of King David…that man of such greatness, David the artist singing Psalms with all his heart. I think of how David was…how hot and cold, up and down, how unafraid to expose his heart’s deepest longings, darkest fears, most treasured hopes and overwhelming joys. How he loved God through all of them. How David, a human with a man’s own brokenness, was so unafraid to love the Lord out loud!

David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the LORD with all his might, while he and the entire house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouts and the sound of trumpets. 2 Samuel 6:14

Isn’t it beautiful, this dancing before the Lord? And to do so, what you have to put aside, to count as lost. Your pride…needless in the face of His greatness. David was unafraid, uninhibited to Dance before the Lord with all his might.

When was the last time I did something with all my might?

Lord, I pray that you would help me live with all my might. To dance, to love, to experience this life with all my being. To seek you, love you, and devote myself to you and to do the jobs you have given me with abandon, with the intense devotion of someone dancing before you. Amen!

Leave a Reply

