A Little Peace, Please!


Tis the Season. The season when everything seems to be happening at once, when the “To Do” list gets a little too long and tempers get too short, when your calendar is too full and your wallet too empty. One thing I’m aware of…I need to commit myself to remembering what this is all about, not just at the beginning of December but every day, every step of the way.

At the heart of it all is a little baby, come to fulfill the perfect plan of a God who loves us completely and without fail. At the heart of it is the promise of forgiveness, the miracle that we are entirely understood, loved, cherished, accepted, known, forgiven. We can rest there, without anxiety, without fear, without concern. We can be at peace.

Oddly enough, I learned a little lesson from my dog this week. She’s a big shaggy animal, overly zealous about every aspect of her doggy little life. She’s one hundred percent happy when she’s happy….one hundred percent sad when she’s sad…one hundred percent repentant when she’s been bad. And although she has not the slightest clue as to what all the activity this month is all about, she’s enjoying the peace a beauty of Christmas in a way I can learn from! She’s one hundred percent peaceful when she’s peaceful. Watching her melt into the carpet by the fire reminded me….that sort of deep, restful, all-encompassing peace is mine, too. If I choose to let it be.

I need to learn to rest in that peace, to let it fold over me, surround me, quiet me, still me. I need to remember every day to stop, put the world out of mind, and consciously make the choice to just let that Peace wash over me, with no other thought but thankfulness for the moment.

Psalm 29: 11 The LORD gives strength to his people;
the LORD blesses his people with peace.

2 thoughts on “A Little Peace, Please!

Leave a Reply

