Poetry Friday…Writer’s Block


Writer’s Block

Words sit
like marbles in
a mason jar
on my desktop

I reach for one
the jar tips
they scatter,
clattering across
blond oak

like windblown leaves
they take flight,
roll off the desk
bounce on the floor
and disperse
to the far ends of the earth

I listen to the sound
of their clicking, clacking
chattering escape
watch them roll
just beyond my reach
and sit at the keyboard,
empty jar in hand.

Poetry this Friday…..nine year old Sonia, daughter of L.L. Barkat’s “To the Lake, to the Ribbon Red”, L.L.’s poetry gathered from her outdoor journal
My good friend Dawn wrote a poem about…ME! Thanks, Dawn…what would I do without you? What a blessing is a sister in Christ.

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday…Writer’s Block

  1. So much that I love here….the sense of longing and lossthe imagesthat blond oak (somehow the warmth of it was a comfort in the midst of the hardness of marble and emptiness)the sounds… clicking, clacking and the half-rhymes of disperse and earth writer’s block and desktop.Much that I love. :)(Thanks too for the link to Sonia’s poem. I’m so proud of her.)

  2. Thanks! I just logged on to change a word (is that cheating?) and saw your comment…I was going to change “clattering” to “chattering”, to play off of the idea that the marbles are *words*…but then I just added the “chattering” before the word escape, which I think worked better.Sonia’s poem…I’d be proud, too! Your daughter is truly talented. I love seeing what your kids are up to! My 9 yr old daughter has a little blog of her own, she has been drawing creatures she imagines to post there. I’ll have to share them when she does!

Leave a Reply

