Poetry Friday…Oasis


Oasis

I dream of
that sun-drenched land
of sand and pomegranates
the date palms,
the olive trees
bent and twisted with age

I long for
the solace, the heat
of desert sun
bending over quiet waters
the running, rushing
healing waters
relief in this
dry and weary land

I miss
the waters of En Gedi
oasis, soul-spring
where David and
a thousand men
before and after
sought their reprieve

Is it strange
to long for a home
I’ve never seen?

Links…Random Acts of Poetry: Ache of Advent at The High Calling Blogs (thanks, L.L.), Joelle’s Knitting, My Advent Gift at Sweet Corn and Cairo, Six Christmas Poems at Goodword Editing.

5 thoughts on “Poetry Friday…Oasis

  1. I love it! I long for that place to. Can’t wait to meet you there one day sweet friend! Check out my sister’s blog if you can, emilymclennan.blogspot.com, this post reminded me of her last post. “I want to see Jesus”

Leave a Reply

