Poetry Friday (R.A.P.): On the Fridge

We’re socked in with a disgusting inversion here. Our beautiful ring of mountains forms a bowl that fills with smog and causes the end of January and February to be….smog season.

I hate smog.

The world outside is a thousand shades of gray, visibility is poor, and it’s not safe to play or run outdoors. I feel crummy. There’s no relief in sight for now, the sun isn’t supposed to break though any time soon and our best hope for relief is a snowstorm that might happen Sunday.

I am lamenting the decision to give up our gym membership…it’s killing me not to be able to run!

So, this poem is just a fantasy of mine. How would I feel if the air cleared, the sun broke through, and I could just stand for a moment and soak it in?

I found the refrigerator magnet poetry to be irritatingly limiting, but that matches the way I’m feeling about about the smog, so somehow it seemed to fit!

Ahhh, Spring. You can’t come soon enough!

In case you can’t read the words in the photo, the poem is:

Sweet, delicate moment
knifes through the bitter void
crushes the raw and aching need
I stop and
be
here in shining sun

More Random Acts of Poetry:

L.L.’s wonderful description of writing poetry, and a poem about her couch that makes me smile (Writing a poem isn’t rocket science)

Dreaming in the Comment Box
at High Calling Blogs

Laure’s The 11 O’Clock Morning Hour at Weaving the Hours

At A Journey Through His Garden, Yvette writes Silent Slumber.

5 thoughts on “Poetry Friday (R.A.P.): On the Fridge

  1. This is going to sound really dumb, but I haven’t been so interested in poetry since college until I found your site. You are going to suck me into this poetry thing. It’s the one type of writing I’ve never been able to create even an average sample of. But I sure am enjoying yours. You are becoming a daily must-read to me.

  2. I love to “be” in the sun too. Healing.I like that you posted the photo, all those words one can just move around, flip, discard, merge. It’s partly what I was talking about over on Seedlings today… somehow with poetry I need to be able to manipulate words and images more fully and writing in longhand seems to disrupt that process.

  3. Linda…Wow, that makes me feel so great! Especially since you’re one of my blogger-heroes, and have such an amazing style. I bet you could write some really great poetry…I dare, no, I double-dog-dare you to write a poem! You’re an outstanding writer and I know it would be a good one.Mom2six…thanks! There is actually a tiny patch of sun in our yard right now, and I think I’ll go stand in it. Just for a moment.L.L…funny, I hadn’t thought of the poetry-and-type issue, even after I read your blog for today I didn’t connect the two until just now. Those magnets are a physical example of manipulating words. I wonder…is there something to *restriction* that helps feed poetry? There are so many styles of poetry that limit your use of syllables, or rhyme scheme, or type of word. Maybe it helps us narrow the vastness of the language? Or helps us think of words we would not otherwise use? What do you think?

  4. i love refrigerator poetry. as a minimalist, i love the limitations the poetry magnets imposes.”i stop and be” … oh my heart sings with these four words!

Leave a Reply

