Project 365, Week 4 (January 18-24)

Project 365, week four…January 18th through 24th

Sunday, January 18: We had friends over for dinner. A fire in the fire pit, root beer floats, and some mad dancing in the living room. So much fun!

Monday, January 19: In which I begin to organize the girls’ closet…and discover that I should have started the project at least a day earlier. I bet some of you didn’t believe me when I said I have an organization problem! I know that the house looks reasonably clean most of the time…but lurking in the closet was this giant mess! Yes friends, all of that came out of one small closet. It’s clean now, thank goodness!

Tuesday, January 20: Rachel is my helper making tomato soup. Rachel opened the can herself (and honestly….I never saw anyone do it the way she did! She opened the can from the *side* somehow, with a regular can opener. Yipes!). She also got herself dressed that day, just in case you were wondering.

Wednesday, January 21: The last first tooth! In case you missed the post, it’s here.

Thursday, January 22: Sarah took this picture of Isaiah, up in his room. I’m not sure what they were doing, but I loved the shot and thought she did a good job.

Friday, January 23: Isaiah’s birthday is Sunday the 25th, and he had a couple of friends over for a sleepover Friday and Saturday. They had a blast, and I was feeling so very blessed that my kids have such wonderful friends! They’re polite, kind to the girls, and fun to be around. I love it!

Friday, January 23a: I couldn’t resist adding this one…Rachel has been working very hard on her reading for over a year now, and Friday morning she finally reached her goal of reading 100 lessons! Yes, this is the infamous “Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons” book, which all three children used for their first reading lessons. Rachel has had the hardest time with it, mainly because it requires her to sit still for at least 15 minutes at a time. She’s doing really well now, though, and she was thrilled to reach 100 and get to open the prize we’ve had waiting for a year in the basement. It was a real red-letter week for Youngest!


Saturday, January 24: We had a sushi feast to celebrate Isaiah turning 12 with our friends, the McDowells! We made sushi (with Krab-with-a-K, avocado, cucumber, and scallions), rice balls with tuna and egg, Vietnamese chicken salad rolls with peanut sauce, cucumber salad, and shrimp with rice and wasabi (which has a Japanese name I can’t remember, and tasted great!). We also made dessert sushi with fruit roll ups and sweet rice. It was one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time! The sushi feast may need to become a quarterly tradition.

4 thoughts on “Project 365, Week 4 (January 18-24)

  1. Wow, you are quite the chef. Those dishes are nearly exotic around here; fresh fish are not very available when you’re so landlocked, so few of us learn to love seafood. Usually only travelers do. Happy birthday to your boy. You’ve almost got a teenager.

  2. Well…not exactly exotic. I’m sort of afraid of the fish around here, most especially the *raw* fish! We’re landlocked, too. So I just used frozen “Krab” (which I had to buy in the Kosher section since it’s the only type without wheat!). Most of the rolls were vegetarian, and “Krab” tastes nothing like fish of any kind, which is fine by me! I worked for a summer at a Salmon processing plant in Alaska…haven’t eaten much fish since then (shiver).Almost a teenager…gulp. I am suddenly feeling much older than I did yesterday! The kids’ birthdays always do that to me…

  3. Wow. I loved all your pictures this week. Your picture of your girls room certainly reminds me of our bedroom. We pretty much keep the door shut at all times LOL. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE the picture of Rachel and the missing tooth. It shows of your mad photography skills. I just wanna reach through the screen and give her a big hug. She is such a cutie! My sis is using the 100 lessons book with her son. It is a very neat method. My nephew is quite brilliant though, reading at 4 1/2, both site words and phonics. I’m proud of your little one too! Happy birthday Issiah!

  4. Great pics. I have that 100 lessons reading book. I didn’t use it for my oldest girl but I may have to for my son.The pic of Isaiah on the 22nd is cool because he looks like a giant in a doll house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

