Random Acts of Poetry: I went looking for grace


i went looking for grace
in the soaring vaults
of the painted cathedral
in the sounds of a silk-robed
choir of boys
in the incense that brushed
the gilded wings of cherubim
twenty breathtaking feet above me

but there in the great heights
i found only smoke and noise
vast spaces of empty air
and flaking gold leaf

i went looking for grace
and i found it
scrubbing scuffed and dirty floors
sullied by the feet
of the people who make up
church
i found it in on my knees
bathed in tears
i found it in the dirt on my hands
washed clean

This week, L.L. Barkat’s writing challenge was to start a poem with the words “I went looking for grace…”

Photo: Stock photo

4 thoughts on “Random Acts of Poetry: I went looking for grace

  1. Grace is everyday, isn’t it? It’s about rubbing up against others and working through differences and loving through hard places…this one spoke volumes to me.:)Laura

Leave a Reply

