Some random happenings….Mount Washmore….and Spring snow


We’re having quite a week! First of all, I want to let you know that I’ve got a post over at TheHighCallingBlogs.com. I’m doing a book club there, we are reading a very exciting book called Make the Impossible Possible by Bill Strickland. I’m so excited about this! We have already had quite a few people join. If you want to join, I’d love to have you! You don’t have to be a member of HCB or even have a blog…just pick the book up and follow along (as a bonus you can do so at Hearts and Minds Books, where you can get 20% off the book if you mention in your order that you’re reading it with High Calling Blogs…but you can also try Amazon or your local library). If you’re reading along with us and are not a blogger, you can just post comments at HCB or on the posts from other blogs and join in the conversation. Otherwise, we’re posting about each chapter on Mondays starting March 16th. I’ll be posting more about this (and links to other participants) as things develop! This is a highly inspirational book and a really good true story, so I hope you’ll think about reading with us.

By the way…the beautiful afghan pictured with the book came in the mail the same day the book did. My wonderful step-mom knitted it for us, and included in the package was a sweet note saying she hoped that I’d be able to find the time to curl up and read a good book with this. What perfect timing! Mom, you always know exactly what I need.

On an entirely different note, we have experienced the untimely demise of our washing machine. Alas, Maytag…we hardly knew ye! Of course, as soon as we started looking online for how to fix it we were immediately faced with all the product reviews we should have read *before* purchasing the washer. It’s never a good thing when a product review includes such words as “unholy,” or such lines as “run screaming from this washer” and “I will gladly PAY you $100 if you come and take it away”. Seriously. But I digress….suffice to say, we spent the better part of yesterday rounding up every scrap of laundry in the house and sitting at Swishy Washy doing schoolwork as our laundry spun in an entire wall of washing machines. I didn’t have time to fold it while we were there, so this is what my living room now looks like:


We also woke up this morning to a nice blanket of Spring snow, which actually didn’t depress me nearly as much as I had expected. In fact, it was almost as if it were Christmas again…but instead of leaving presents Santa left giant pile of laundry. Hey, at least it’s clean! We’ll scale Mount Washmore today and tackle the washer tomorrow, Hubby and Eldest have already hauled it onto the back porch and taken it apart. Should be an interesting project!


Finally (and then I promise, I’m going to go fold laundry!) I am experimenting with a new thing called Zemanta. It is a bloggy-device that, among other things, finds content in other blogs that matches what you’re writing about, provides you with instant links that you can choose to make live in your writing, and gives you a bank of photos that you can use that match the things you’re blogging about. You can also “re-blog” things, meaning you can take quotes from another blog and it will automatically include them in your writing, with reference to the blog it came from. Pretty fun, and I suspect it will be useful once I figure out how to use it!

Related articles by Zemanta

Zemanta Pixie
6 thoughts on “Some random happenings….Mount Washmore….and Spring snow

  1. Hmm…I’ve checked out some of the articles Zemanta suggested and I clicked on under my post here…Just wanted to warn you that the first article does contain a naughty word, but is highly funny.

  2. Hey there! Sounds like the book club is a good idea…I might check it out! I am always reading too many books, though. Everyone needs a vice, right?I’m bummed because I just received a message from Amazon that they were unable to get a copy of Steel Crosswhites’ CD for me! 😦 I’m still investigating other options. Hang in there with the laundry!

  3. congrats Erica, I am sure it will be a great thing for you. I will watch out for your next book. I am not a self help book kinda girl and I have a bunch of books to read right now. And I am so sorry bout your washer- that is really NO fun!

Leave a Reply

