Sweeping out the leaven…

Just a quick thought today, slipped in between preparations for tonight’s Seder…

Sweeping out the house from top to bottom is a part of this Passover Festival. We scrub, dust, and sweep through the house, finding dirt and grime that we fail to see from day to day.

“Be careful,” Jesus said to [his disciples]. “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” (Matthew 16:6). They didn’t understand what he meant, and he had to explain…he was talking about the religious teachings of the Pharisees and Sadducees, not about bread.

As I swept and dusted this week, as I found dirt and grime that I had walked past a thousand times over the year and not seen, I thought of my own heart. I thought of all the leaven I have missed, the little parts of my heart that want to lean towards religion and not faith, the little black marks that I grow used to and stop seeing when I ought to scrub them out.


Brush away the leaven! Scrub out the marks. Prepare for the feast!

And I watch the children, who have been my helpers this week. They take joy in polishing the silver, watching tarnished black become shiny and beautiful again.

There is a liturgy, a sanctity, a holiness even in cleaning house. It’s good to notice that, and to be thankful that even in little tasks of life–especially in the little tasks– the chance to grow closer to Him is always there. The chance to be thankful for His power to remove even the darkest stain.

5 thoughts on “Sweeping out the leaven…

  1. “. . . dirt and grime that we fail to see from day to day.” What an observation. We become so accustomed to it we don’t see it any more. Not so much the house we live in (though, at my house, definitely that too), but the house we invite Him to live in. That house cleaning, self-examination that we so don’t like to do is so necessary. Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

