His Hands

A post from the archives....


His Hands…. how many times have you heard these two words together, in reference to God? I remember singing that timeless song as a child…”He’s got the whole world, In His Hands!” Often, when things are hard, I picture myself cradled in God’s hands, protected and safe. Perhaps even more often, I picture my children there. Sometimes when I am praying for someone, I envision them safely protected, nestled in His Hands.

I was curious this morning and did a search for those words in the Bible. What a picture was painted with the verses that contain those words! How loving, how powerful, how creative, how amazing His grace, how protected, how much about God you can learn when you read about His Hands….

Job 5:18
For he wounds, but he also binds up; he injures, but his hands also heal.

Job 34:19
[the Lord] who shows no partiality to princes and does not favor the rich over the poor, for they are all the work of his hands?

Job 36:32
He fills his hands with lightning and commands it to strike its mark.

Psalm 19:1
The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.

Psalm 95:5
The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land.

Psalm 111:7
The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy.

Mark 8:25
Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly.

Mark 10:16
And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.

Luke 4:40
When the sun was setting, the people brought to Jesus all who had various kinds of sickness, and laying his hands on each one, he healed them.

Luke 13:12
When Jesus saw her, he called her forward and said to her, “Woman, you are set free from your infirmity.” Then he put his hands on her, and immediately she straightened up and praised God.

Luke 23:46
Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.

Luke 24:38
He said to them, “Why are you troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds? Look at my hands and my feet. It is I myself! Touch me and see; a ghost does not have flesh and bones, as you see I have.” When he had said this, he showed them his hands and feet.

Luke 24:50
[ The Ascension ] When he had led them out to the vicinity of Bethany, he lifted up his hands and blessed them.

John 3:35
The Father loves the Son and has placed everything in his hands.

I am amazed by how much you can learn about God, just by reading about what he does with His Hands. His hands created the universe! His hands are powerful and can strike down nations. His hands made all people and he loves them all equally. All creation is the work of His Hands. His hands are faithful. His hands heal. His hands bless. His hands are marked with the sacrifice he made, for us! We are all safe and loved when we are in His hands.

Knowing the work of His Hands, I can’t avoid taking a look at my own. What do I do with my hands? Do I use them to bless, to heal? To do God’s work? Are they folded idly in rest when they should be at work? Are they raised in anger, or in praise?

If you look up verses that contain his hands in reference to people, you get a much different picture. The contrast says as much about our nature as it does about God’s….raising his hands in anger, falling at his hands, being delivered into the hands of an enemy, prayers in the Psalms that David would avoid falling into the hands of men, righteous people are said to have clean hands, the hands of the fool are idle, Pilot washed his hands of the blood of Jesus, His blood is on our hands. On the other hand (no pun intended), God blesses the work of our hands, we lift our hands in praise, we clap our hands and sing songs to the Lord.

How will you use your hands today?

Lord, I thank you that you have the world in your powerful and gentle hands. Please help me use my hands today with your example always in mind. Help me strive to use my hands as you do…to create, to heal, to bless and protect. I ask that you use me, that you let the work of my hands be a light unto you. Let my hands be raised in praise!


Photo: Taken this morning and edited in Photoshop, a sunflower cradled in Sarah’s hands.

Leave a Reply

