Gratitude Journal….and Antelope Island

1 Chronicles 16:34
Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.

We took a picnic to Antelope Island State Park and really enjoyed the time together. The Great Salt Lake is an interesting place, similar to the Dead Sea in the Holy Land. There are great expanses of salt flats, white and faceless as far as the eye can see. There are sandy beaches, scrubby mountains, and buffalo roaming here and there. And bugs…lots and lots of bugs!

I was walking along, thinking about all that salt. My mind wandered to the story of Lot and Sodom and Gomorrah, I was thinking about Lot’s wife becoming a pillar of salt and wondering…what have I been looking back towards? And then, I looked up and I saw…

A pillar of bugs.

No joke, a pillar of small swarming gnats that stood a good seven feet above my head and followed me wherever I went! And a similar pillar rose above Eldest’s head as well. Yipes! As we fanned above our heads and ran around in circles and darted back and forth in an effort to escape the bugs, I had to laugh at myself. It was like God was reminding me…sometimes salt is just salt. Sometimes, I need to just enjoy the moment and lighten up!

I am grateful for:

206: Moments when I remember that God has a great sense of humor and He loves it when we enjoy His creation…and laugh at ourselves!

207: Breathtaking beauty in things great and small

208: Vistas enjoyed together

209: Time spent together as a family

210: Exploring new places

211: All creatures large…

212: And small

213: For grand and sweeping views

214: And tiny details

215: For moments to stop and think

216: And reminders to enjoy the view

218: And time spent just drinking in Your glory!

One thought on “Gratitude Journal….and Antelope Island

Leave a Reply

