Gratitude Journal…Slowing Time


The days go by like water flowing, a steady stream of cascading blues and greens that bubbles over rocks and sways around the roots of trees, rubbing the rough edges smooth and cutting shallow banks deep. These days, the minutes, hours…they slide by so quickly and the beauty of them is so fleeting, some times I want to weep for the feeling that this water is flowing between my fingers and I can’t hold on. When the water runs too swiftly, when the cascade seems like a torrent and the singing of the brook sounds like a cacophony of tumbling waves, I remind myself of the cure for rushing frustration, the one thing that slows and smooths and preserves the flow of time.

Gratitude, for every beautiful moment.

Gratitude, which captures and preserves each precious spark of light dancing on the water and holds it, in the mind’s eye, a photograph of memory. The pause to appreciate slows racing time down, God’s gift is that when you pause to wonder at the beauty of it all, time seems to stand still. Perhaps that’s why a child’s days are so long and full, while ours seem to slip so quickly through our fingers?

171. Dandelion crowns and sweet sisters

272. About Face roses
273. snowball fights in June

274. eleven candles

275. new little faces
276. a smiling yellow dog
277. moments when you might just be Heidi
278. a seat with a view
279. a girl and her cat
280. the love of my life
281. his blue girl roses
282. pink wildflowers
283. watching the storm roll in
284. the blessing of family love
285. the way a newborn’s head smells
286. two new lives in our church family
287. the smell of honeysuckle
288. this cat’s crazy yellow eyes
8 thoughts on “Gratitude Journal…Slowing Time

  1. I am grateful for you my friend. I will miss you while you are gone but I pray you have an amazing time with your family and return refreshed.

  2. "…some times I want to weep for the feeling that this water is flowing between my fingers and I can't hold on."I know the feeling, but letting go leads to an even better peace – as you seem to already know. Well said.Brad

Leave a Reply

