This is the Passover Festival….

 A post from the archives, as I prepare for this year’s celebration…..

We gathered around the table, eighteen strong, from grandparents to the child of six years old
This is the Passover Festival
.

Covering my head and saying a prayer, I lit the candles
As the woman of the house lights the fe
stival candles, so a women brought forth our Savior, Jesus.

We filled the first cup, the cup of blessing
Blessed are you, O Lord our God! King of the universe, Creator of the fruit of the vine.

I washed my husband’s hands in a silver bowl of water, dried them with a square of linen
He arose from supper…took a towel…then he poured water into the basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet…

The children’s table

We ate parsley dipped in salt water
...And he answered and said, He that dips his hand with me in the dish, the same shall betray me.

We broke the middle matzah
The matzah is unleavened, striped, and pierced…as Jesus was free of sin, striped by the whip, and pierced in his hands, feet and side. Jesus broke this bread and said, “This is my body, which is given for you: do this in remembrance of me”.

We hid this broken piece, the affikomen, to be found by children later
And Jesus was hidden for three days, separated by death yet in three days returned again.

We recalled the way the Lord brought the Hebrew people up from Egypt
Dayenu…it would have been enough for us!

We recalled how the Paschal lamb was sacrificed, a lamb perfect and without fault or blemish, and its blood was sprinkled on the doorway so that families would be passed over, spared death
Jesus, the perfect Lamb of God, who takes away the sins of the world.

We drank the second cup, the cup of Plagues
Which passed over us, as Jesus saves us from our sins.

We ate the passover supper together
Jesus said, “With desire I have desired to eat this passover with you before I suffer: for I say unto you, I shall not eat it, until it be fulfilled in the kingdom of God.

And the third cup: The cup of Redemption
Jesus said: “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, even that which is poured out for you.”
And the fourth cup: The cup of Praise
His mercy endures forever.


The supper has ended, an empty table stands in a quiet, upper room. Traces of wine in the cups, bits of scattered bread, empty seats pushed back. The Lord is gone, gone to the garden.

The disciples try, but do not understand. Unknowing, they cannot even manage to keep watch with him.

The darkness surrounds and seems to overcome, broken only by the cold dawn of Good Friday. The Lamb of God, some thousand years foretold, walks toward the fulfillment of a thousand prophesies.

We stumble through the darkness, until the third day dawns.

One thought on “This is the Passover Festival….

  1. I remember this from your previous posting. I was hoping you'd put it up again.Us? This year we are reading, but not physically doing the Seder. We met a homeschool group of Believers and my boys are playing ball with them in the evenings this week. A large group is in town for the free ski week at the mtn up the road. I'm trusting that God knows what we need – especially since we've been praying for likeminded friends in this area. But I relish your tradition as it reflects HisStory & our stories of salvation.BLessings.

Leave a Reply

